Overhaul

This is how my room used to feel.

I used to hate to clean my room. My room was just an utter mess in terms of how I wanted it, and though Mom would probably beg to differ, I’m sure I had a greater desire for it to be clean that she did. But I couldn’t ever get a good organization system going. I would try clean in stages, but the stages themselves wouldn’t ever be completed because there would be another stage getting in the way. And then I would get my stages all mixed, then end up having to give up in the middle of cleaning because of time, and just have a differently messy room. It was annoying to say the least.

Now, my room isn’t very big. But the things in it happened to be large. Actually, the main thing that was just really large was my waterbed. I loved my waterbed. It was very comfortable. But, since my room isn’t very big, my bed had taken up about a third of it. The rest of my room consisted of my desk (which I hadn’t used in ages), my K’nex entertainment center, a bookshelf, and general mess.

That’s not a whole lot of stuff, generally speaking. But it was still very hard to clean the place, the main reason being I had so much poor/outdated infrastructure in the organization of my room. I’ve had my room since 2001, and in that time, the main structure of my room didn’t change much. There wasn’t much to change! The big thing was my bed, and since it was a waterbed, it never moved, ever. This limited the ability to rearrange my room to my liking, even though I didn’t realize it before.

Besides my bed, most of the infrastructure in my room was left over from previous years of living in my room. The organizational system had no room for records, since I just started collecting them a year or two ago, and my desk was in a spot where it was supposed to be convenient to do schoolwork (which I don’t do much of at all anymore). The speakers in my room have never really been at a satisfactory spot for me, mainly because they had to go around everything else. Pretty much, to wrap it up in a nutshell, everything was put around everything else, so that there was no easy way to organize ANYTHING without disturbing something else that would need to be put where something else was, and so on.

But then something wonderful happened.

My waterbed developed a leak.

Well, that wasn’t very wonderful. I was actually rather annoyed. I kinda didn’t like getting randomly wet as I was checking Facebook for the 14th time since I had gotten in bed. But that’s beside the point.

Point is, we didn’t really have any patches that we could get to stay on the waterbed, so I just decided to dismantle the thing and sleep in a sleeping bag until I could figure out another plan sleeping-wise.

But when I dismantled my waterbed, not only did my room get twice as big, but my room got twice as big. It was SO COOL. After I got done dismantling the bed, I kinda just stood there, with a look on my face like the look on a kid’s face after he got done dismantling his waterbed and finds he just got twice the real estate in his room. It was great. Not only did it free up room to put stuff, but it freed up room to temporarily put things as I was organizing/throwing out other things. A big requirement to organize is a space big enough to put everything you need to organize. And boy does that space motivate when you get it.

So the past week I’ve been reorganizing things in my room, and doing it successfully. Making all kinds of plans like figuring out where I’m gonna put my speakers, my desk, my books and everything. Probably gonna paint it my room too, maybe put in a different light fixture and window (Mom and Dad don’t know about the window yet, so don’t tattle, since they’ll probably never read this completely open blog of mine that I post for everyone to see). So the creative juices are flowing in terms of redoing my room, and I’m loving it.

This is partially why I’m so darn happy about my hammock. It hooks onto eyehooks in the wall when I’m using it, draping across my room, and when I’m not using it, it hooks onto a single hook on one end of the room, and will conveniently hide some storage boxes. And then I have just about my whole room to do stuff in. The possibilities are somewhat endless.

It’s fantastic to get something you’ve wanted for a long time that you had no idea you really wanted. But that you definitely wanted.

About Derek

Well hello there. I'm a thoughtful chap who loves God and swing dancing. I tend to live in the moment with the future in mind, and I try make everything as worth it as possible. And if I can do something that makes me look silly, making my friends laugh, I'll probably do it. View all posts by Derek

5 responses to “Overhaul

  • Shirley Mast

    Your moms’s a stalker. She reads every single word you write.

    She couldn’t care less what you do with that window as long as 1)you pay for it 2)it doesn’t deface or drop the resale value of the house 3)it contains the expensive heat and a/c within the house.

    Your room is looking very cool, BTW.

  • Shirley Mast

    ok, that’s a ridiculous avatar. How do I change that??!

  • Caleb

    I started reading the first few paragraphs going “Yeah. Yeah! Yeah, me too!” My room is also a mess, and needs to be taken care of. Badly. But it just never gets done.

    My waterbed needs to leak, too. But I don’t have one.

  • Angela

    Except for the possession of a water bed, your words could have come straight from my mouth. I am currently in a bit of a conundrum. While I was living away from home, my mother gathered every single thing I have ever owned from childhood up until now, and piled it in my bedroom. When I moved home last fall, I was told very plainly that I needed to deal with “that stuff”. I have taken a couple stabs at it, but every attempt thus far has been unsuccessful. Naturally, I’m a messy person anyway. I believe the problem is that since there is so much stuff already IN the room, I have no space to put away things that I use on a day-to-day basis, so the room gets very messy (in addition to all the boxes) and then every time I want to start in on the childhood stuff I have to pick up the everyday stuff BEFORE I can do anything else. *sigh*

    It doesn’t help that my bed is a queen-sized, headboard-to-the-ceiling Victorian BOAT.

    Any suggestions?

    • thederekmast

      Hahaha, yeah, I feel you. First thing is, I’m actually not that much of a packrat now, now that I’m out of high school and have things to do other than enjoy my packrattiness. So there was a lot of stuff that I thought was cool/quirky years ago that just really serves no purpose in terms of utility or memento. The few things that I thought I should probably hold onto but are still practically useless (or just take up to much space for what they’re worth) in my room, I put in a box in the attic. The other stuff I pitched or gave to my next door neighbors.

      And actually, I’m at the point where I would recommend a hammock. It’sa so nice. The only thing about it that’s a downside is the lack of thermal enhancement it gives by itself, but a good sleeping bag or a few blankets takes care of it. I’m still experimenting with that yet. But the ergonomics and minimal space requirement is the huge bonus. (By the way, your description of your bed made me laugh out loud.) It does take a few nights of “sleep” to get used to it, because it is very different, but I’m discovering just how wonderful it is to sleep/hang out in. If you want some more info regarding that, check this out.

      But if you don’t really have the option of hanging a hammock in your room, just see if you have an empty room to just transfer everything in your room to so you have more room to have piles of things: piles to keep, throw out, donate, etc. Makes it way easier. But don’t keep those piles in the other room too long, lest the frustration of thy parents come down on thy head. We all know the wrath of parents is not something to be trifled with. :)

Leave a Reply

