Brainflip

So there was one time when I thought “livid” meant something like being tired, uncaring, and all-around apathetic to the situation.

That’s not what that means.

There was a time when I thought a testimony simply meant the story of how one came to Christ.

Yeah, that’s not what that means, either.

Ever been in that kind of situation? Where you’re trying to make sense of something based on what you thought, and then realize it’s completely different? I had one of those today. I call them brainflips.

So today, I was at a meeting for my South Africa trip. We were talking about testimonies, and working on forming our own in preparation for the trip. For my entire life previous to this, I’ve tried and given up on trying to create a testimony, mainly because of my preconception that a testimony is all about the story of how I came to Christ.

Now, I believed in Jesus’ saving grace when I was 3 or 4. There’s not a whole lot of story to that, and if there was, I don’t remember anything about it. I could easily make something up. I could say something about how I was just a bad kid before I accepted Jesus as Savior, stealing cookies, jumping off the roof, and driving the car unapproved by my parents. But that wouldn’t really be honest, and likely not very convincing to the person I’m talking to. They’d probably know that I couldn’t possibly reach the cookie jar at age 2-3. So I can’t really lie. And besides, lying wouldn’t help my cause very much.

But here’s what I realized today. It never clicked in my brain WHY the purpose of testimonies even exist. Testimonies are meant to be a segue into sharing the gospel. The purpose of a testimony is to share where you’re from, what Christ did for you, how it has impacted your life, and why the person you’re conversing with should be interested in it. I never thought of it before, but I mean, that’s exactly what testimonials are on advertisements. They’re stories for the reader to relate to in order to give the reader reasons why to purchase the product.

So after thinking about all that, and with some ideas from some friends, here’s a go at my testimony.

God blessed me by giving me parents who loved him, and taught me about him. Because Jesus was a part of my life from when I was three, he protected me from the things that you usually hear about in the “before” region of a testimony. All throughout my life, Jesus guarded me from resorting to doing things like drugs or alcohol, because he gave me a reason to live with purpose. He gave me hope that no matter what happens, the most important thing is him. He died for me, paying for the penalty that I would have otherwise received because of the bad things I’ve done. Without that, I probably would have no reason to live right now. I would have no reason to abstain from things that make me feel better for a little while, but are bad for me in the long run. Christ preserved me, and saved me from my sins so I can have eternal life with him when I die. I’m eternally grateful to him, and I know he can give you the same hope and purpose in life. Would you like to know how to have that same hope?

So there’s the rough draft of my testimony right now.

As always, please comment below upon my thoughts, whether positively or negatively. I’d really appreciate your input.

About Derek

Well hello there. I'm a thoughtful chap who loves God and swing dancing. I tend to live in the moment with the future in mind, and I try make everything as worth it as possible. And if I can do something that makes me look silly, making my friends laugh, I'll probably do it. View all posts by Derek

One response to “Brainflip

  • Tattianna

    I always believed, no matter what background you had, a testimony spoke of the changes God made in your life when you accepted Him, along with the difference it made in your future.
    I really appreciated this post.

Leave a Reply

