Dictionary Diving

I’m developing a new sport.

Actually, I just conceived and developed it last night. Yeah, I’m awesome like that.

So it’s called dictionary diving. Guess what happens in dictionary diving?

Oh. Yeah, that’s pretty much it. One takes a bunch of dictionaries and fills up a swimming pool with the ripped pages of said dictionaries, and then dives in them. You got it right.

No, of course you didn’t get it right, stupid! That’s just ridiculous, and I can’t believe you made me make that up.

So anyway, essentially all you do is randomly open a dictionary and pick a word that you like that you never knew existed before. The goal is to find a way to use the word in normal conversation that day.

I found “eximious” today. It means “most distinguished; excellent.” Hehehe, can’t wait to spring that on some poor, unsuspecting construction worker.

So try it out, and share with the class (aka comment below) what obscure devices of communication you discover when doing so. And what happens when you use them in normal conversation. It’ll be fun!

About Derek

Well hello there. I'm a thoughtful chap who loves God and swing dancing. I tend to live in the moment with the future in mind, and I try make everything as worth it as possible. And if I can do something that makes me look silly, making my friends laugh, I'll probably do it. View all posts by Derek

Leave a Reply

