Woof.

What a weird week.

Grandma went to the hospital last week, and was diagnosed with pancreatitis, as well as had some stones in her gallbladder or something. So Mom’s been keeping her company in the hospital this week, and it feels like the house has been empty without here. But surgery was today, and was evidently successful, and Grandma pulled through like a champ. So there’s that.

Also, the big pine tree in the backyard cracked over in half because of the insanely huge storm last night. So we’re gonna have to get rid of it. It was so big. The landscape in the back yard looks so weird now with it gone. I wasn’t here at the time when it blew over; I was over congratulating my graduating friends at Calvary Church at the CHALC graduation. The storm sounded crazy even from inside the church. Also, I can’t help but think of the imagery of the tree in Jane Eyre. There’s really nothing in my life that would be symbolized well by the tree, but it’s definitely a “BAM.” moment. A nice landmark in the course of my life, anyway.

Our bathroom is currently all torn apart, because it’s getting revamped. Just another thing adding to the weirdness of this week.

Also, there’s something else that may or may not happen that you may or may not hear about. It’s exciting and yet caught me off guard something fierce, even though it’s been on my mind for a little while.

There’s some other stuff that happened this week too that aren’t necessarily related to the above subject, and aren’t incredibly interesting, but have been just more things that have been different about the week, that just made it stand out more.

Also, countdown to my various missions trips are getting closer and closer to zero. There’s less than a month until I’m at Joni and Friends, and then the rest of the summer will be a blur from South Africa to Burkina Faso.

I’m pretty sure I will remember this year in my life, from what I hope is going to happen this summer overall. I hope God will stretch me and challenge me in ways I have no clue about, and I hope I survive everything he throws at me. I know both will happen. I’m just sorta nervous. But it’s an excited nervous. A happy nervous. A determined nervous. Really, it’s mostly just me being uncertain of what’s coming and plunging into it anyway. YAY!

Oh, and it’s my birthday tomorrow. So happy two decades to me.

That’s really it. I don’t have anything groundbreakingly philosophical this week, though I have been working through some really good books. I haven’t read for awhile, it was rather refreshing. One more thing different about this week.

So it’s not that I haven’t enjoyed this week, it’s just that this week has been completely out of the ordinary. Which is awesome, and….weird.

About Derek

Well hello there. I'm a thoughtful chap who loves God and swing dancing. I tend to live in the moment with the future in mind, and I try make everything as worth it as possible. And if I can do something that makes me look silly, making my friends laugh, I'll probably do it. View all posts by Derek

3 responses to “Woof.

Leave a Reply

